top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShea Haddox

Two Years on Sioux

Updated: Jun 4, 2022

This month marks two years since we purchased our current home. This house was truly a miracle for us. Our closest family and friends know most of the story but for my first post here I want to take the time to write it all out. I’m just so incredibly thankful for how God worked to put us here.

In March of 2020, we welcomed our little girl into this world, Avery Mae. At the time we were staying with Chad’s parents (bless them) and desperately searching for a house. COVID was just ramping up, the housing market was about to become extremely competitive and everything that was within our pre-approved budget was, for lack of a better term, a dump. We were checking Realtor and Zillow every hour of the day, nothing.

Then the evening of March 30th (two days after Avery was born) while my mom was meeting her for the first time, I saw our house on Zillow. I immediately texted our realtor and to my disappointment it was already under contract, less than three hours after being listed! A couple weeks went by, we kept looking. We viewed a few houses. Nothing. Still, many of our family and friends were praying with us that we would find something. On April 9th I woke up and checked realtor, our house wasn’t showing pending anymore. I immediately called our realtor, she verified the contract had fell through and we set up to view it at noon.

We got ready and loaded up our newborn baby and little toddler and drove into town. I was so anxious. But as soon as we pulled into the driveway, I think we knew. Our realtor arrived and we went through the house. It was absolutely perfect. It had a roomy kitchen, a large pantry, big yard, and was solid and clean… I was in love. Chad left there and went straight to the office to sign the contract. We were on our way to being homeowners!


The next month or so was a journey. Our first closing date was May 8th. If you’ve bought a house before you know they want to know just about everything about you, just shy of a blood sample and what you ate for breakfast. I did all I could to provide them with what they needed as quickly as possible but we hit a few speed bumps along the way. Eventually, after lots of prayers and frustration, we closed on the house on May 19th, the day after our wedding anniversary. Best. Gift. Ever. I mean its gonna take a lot to top that one! 😄😜


The amazing thing is, had the house been available at first time we saw it, I don’t know that we would have been able to get it. We were relying on some funds to come in that arrived much later than anticipated for our down payment. It was like God held it for a time under the previous contract and then said, “ok… now is the time.” We purchased right before the market boomed and did not have to compete with other offers. If we’d had to compete for it we wouldn’t have gotten it; our pre-approved amount was $1 more than what we purchased the house for.

Everything fell right into place, the Lord orchestrated it all. We were finally home.





45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page